Menu Expand
Tales From a Zen Kitchen

Tales From a Zen Kitchen

Florencia Clifford


Additional Information

Book Details


I have learned to notice the splendour of life even in the slimiest of creatures. I have found beauty in what I used to perceive as ugly. Slowly I have learned to love that which is difficult to love, both in myself and in others.

Florencia Clifford is a zen cook. In this evocative and powerful book, we move seamlessly from Buddhist retreats in an isolated farmhouse in mid-Wales, to the hills of Florencia's childhood in Argentina, and back again. She describes her experiences in sensual detail: the subtle and magical shifts in herself, the seasons, and the people around her. Along the way, she shares her insights and many delicious vegetarian recipes.

This is a journey of cooking and healing, taking us into a deep and luminous understanding of the food she prepares, and of the world around us. It tells of the growth of love, as the author learns to care for all beings, including the slugs in the title.

This book features twenty original illustrations by artist Michaela Meadow.

An intensely felt and highly personal description of the transformation of a Zen cook's life through cooking. Beautifully written, with flowering prose, this book will inspire anyone who cooks.
Hilary Richards, Retreat Leader, Western Chan Fellowship

Florencia Clifford was born and grew up in the city of Córdoba in Argentina. In 1994 she moved to York, where she lives with her family just outside the city walls. She has been working as a Zen cook for the past seven years.

Michaela Meadow grew up among the vibrant colours and open landscapes of South Africa, before moving to the UK. She graduated from University College Falmouth in 2011 and works as a freelance illustrator.

Table of Contents

Section Title Page Action Price
Feeding Orchids to the Slugs – Tales from a Zen Kitchen by Florencia Clifford 1
How to use this book 3
Foreword 4
Prologue 11
Chapter One – A Welsh Farmhouse Sec1:21
Chapter Two – Retreat One: The Little Girl Sec1:29
Chapter Three – Storms and Siestas Sec1:43
Chapter Four – Retreat Two: Learning the Ropes Sec1:51
Chapter Five – Tara Sec1:57
Chapter Six – Retreat Three: Dancing with Death Sec1:65
Chapter Seven – La Granja Sec1:77
Chapter Eight – Retreat Four: The Art of Cooking Sec1:83
Chapter Nine – Porridge Sec1:99
Chapter Ten – Retreat Five: Cooking in a New Kitchen Sec1:107
Chapter Eleven – Fina Sec1:125
Chapter Twelve – Retreat Six: The Pilgrim Cook Sec1:133
Chapter Thirteen – Pomegranates Sec1:149
Chapter Fourteen – Retreat Seven: Death of a Teacher Sec1:159
Chapter Fifteen – Ongamira Sec1:175
Chapter Sixteen – Retreat Eight: Countless Jewels Sec1:181
Chapter Seventeen – Butterfly Sec1:195
Chapter Eighteen – Retreat Nine: Transformation Sec1:201
Chapter Nineteen – Fly Sec1:215
Essential Elements of the Zen Kitchen Sec1:222
Acknowledgements Sec1:232
Index of Recipes Sec1:236